top of page

david moore

Recruiting Committee Chair

David Moore graduated from Dudley High School in 1962. While a student at Dudley, he was Captain of the Drum Line under the direction of Mr. James Morgan who served as the band director in charge of the percussion and jazz bands during that time.   He attended NC A&T State University and Guilford Technical Community College.    

In 1990, David began his quest to help young children succeed in life by volunteering to mentor them. Since the early 1990s, David has mentored over 3,000 youth in Guilford County Schools (including Dudley High, Washington Street   Elementary, Peck Elementary, Foust Elementary, Kiser Middle, Hairston Middle, Bessemer Elementary and Wiley Elementary). He has also mentored at   Hayes-Taylor   YMCA   and in   the community.  Moore received Certificates of Appreciation from most of the schools for the countless hours of volunteer work at their schools.

To further his goal to help young children, David   Co-Founded:   Men-Tors   Association, Inc; BOTSO (Brothers Organized to Serve Others), Hayes-Taylor Y-Men's Club and the Council of Elders Foundation.   David assisted   the   In-School   Suspension Personnel at Dudley for two years. Also, he has found time to serve in the following positions: Executive Director and Past Chairman of the Board of Mentors Association, Inc., Head of Security Team and Member of Trustee Board for Bethel AME Church, President of   Hayes   Taylor   Y-Men’s   Club   (Hayes-Taylor YMCA), Member of James B. Dudley Hall of Fame/Hall of Distinction Board, Member Alumni Band at North Carolina A & T State University and Dudley High School, Past President of the Postal Retirement Club, Past President and Shop Steward for National Postal Mail Handlers Union, Local 305, Past Shop Steward for National Postal Mail Handlers Union, Local 98 and he was one of the original members of the Committee to Save Dudley.

Moore received the National Alumni Service Award for 2015, and he was inducted into the Dudley Hall of Fame/Hall of Distinction in 2015.

bottom of page